University of Aberdeen

A leading educational and research center in the UK and a world-renowned research university. Founded by the Pope in 1495, the University has a history of 525 years and is ranked as one of the five classical universities in the UK.

Founded in 1495, the University has a pround tradition of academic excellence which countinues into its sixth century.

Teaching at the University of Aberdeen is organised across 12 schools which encompass a broad range of disciplines. Multidisciplinary research centres and institutes bring together experts at the cutting-edge of their fields to work with colleagues across the UK and beyond.

Multi-million pound investment provides students and researchers with some of the best facilities in the UK.

The University of Aberdeen has been one of the most historic, representative and academically strong public research universities in the UK. The University is world-renowned for the quality of its teaching and research, with five Nobel Prize winners and major inventions such as the theory of electromagnetism, insulin, isotopes and nuclear magnetic resonance. The University of Aberdeen is ranked 178th in the 2021 THE World University Rankings.
One of the major cities in the Scottish region of the UK, Aberdeen is a major seaport on the North Sea coast. Among Aberdeen's regular annual events, one of the livelier and more well-known is the annual Aberdeen International Youth Festival, which brings together top young musical or creative talent from around the world for a cultural exchange.
George Paget Thomson, Nobel Prize in Physics (1937); John McLeod, Nobel Prize in Physiology (1923); John Boyd Orr, Nobel Peace Prize (1949)